Peripheral Nervous System (PNS)


The peripheral nervous system (PNS) is the part of the nervous system which includes the nerves and ganglia that are outside of the brain and spinal cord. It consists of 3 types of nerves: spinal nerves, cranial nerves and visceral nerves which are the connecting wires between CNS and sensory organs. The system is further divided into two sub-divisions: the somatic and autonomic nervous systems. The nerves of somatic nervous system are connected to the skeletal muscles. These nerves carry signals to the skeletal muscles from the brain. The other is the peripheral nervous system that carries signals to the glands, organs, the heart muscles and the digestive system.

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart


Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp

× How can I help you?